Yarn Review – Novita 7 Veljesta (Raita)

Brand: 7 Veljesta (Raita)

Producer: Novita

Country: Finland

Contents: 75% wool, 25% polyamide

Colours: Mixes of coordinated dyes (way of mixing depends on type)

Weight: All “7 Veljesta” are 100/200 (exactly this or 150/300):

Linnut

Nostalgia

Polkka

Raita

Tweed

I have checked out two colour sets, brown/cream/gray and eyesore orange/purple/green/blue. See top-left on this photo:

IMAG0576

Absolutely perfect beginner’s yarn. Works up quickly, being 1/2, next to no fuzz, and combinations of colours look really nice. Example from the producer’s page. I’d love to try some others sets – maybe the ones currently listed on Raita subpage, especially the green one, and also Polkka, green and blue ones.

Now the brown one is being used as source of tons of granny squares, and the eyesore one is now my spaghetti scarf.

Would I recommend it? Hell, yes. It is a bit scratchy, but working with it is perfectly nice. I wouldn’t make a hat with it, I suspect I would scratch a hole in my forehead, but socks would be nice, and everything like afghans or other home decoration items, too.

Leave a Reply

